Projects

We have more than ten years of experience in a wide range of projects. The following selection shows you our diverse and comprehensive application possibilities in the areas: Automotive, Energy technology, Household appliances, Medical technology, ... Please understand that we cannot disclose all details for reasons of customer protection.
«
gas filter compressed air drying intake pipe fan optimisation ultrasonic water meter dust trap fluid dynamics laboratory room ventilation wire coil heating exhaust optimisation axial gas meter aerodynamics
»

Power plant filter

Task

We were asked to find the cause of vibrations within a gas pressure control and measuring system. After investigating the flow behaviour, these could be attributed to the asymmetrical and swirling outflow from the filter. The filter is used to separate solids (e.g. rust particles) and liquids from the gas.

Solution

By adapting the internal components (while retaining the original filter cartridges), it was possible to achieve a uniform filter outflow. The separation efficiency was increased, the required installation space reduced and the pressure loss halved. The halved pressure loss leads to a (hydraulic) power saving of approx. 15,000 W (corresponds to 2.5 MWh per week when operating 24/7).

gas filter

Film drying

Task

In a "wetgate" film scanner, the film leaves the apparatus too wet, it drips. The nozzles used for drying do not manage to blow the tetrachloroethylene (PER) off the film to a sufficient extent. The optimised nozzles should be plug'n'play interchangeable.

Solution

The redesigned nozzles convert the available compressed air into kinetic energy much more efficiently. So efficient that the inlet pressure can be reduced by approx. 20 %. Now the film is wound up without dripping.

compressed air drying

Intake pipe

Task

We were asked to design an intake distribution pipe for the adaptation of a larger throttle. The aim is to de-throttle the intake for the purpose of increasing performance.

Solution

Our flow-optimised design can be used plug'n'play without restrictions as a functional prototype (or as small series production). Manufactured via 3D printing (MJFMulti Jet Fusion).

intake pipe

Radial fan

Task

As a component of a household appliance, a radial fan is to be optimised so that the overall appliance achieves a better EEIEnergy Efficiency Index. The spiral housing must not be changed in order to keep the injection moulding tool costs low. An acoustic improvement is also desirable.

Solution

Our design does increase the (static) efficiency of the fan by approx. 50 %. This corresponds to a (hydraulic) power saving of 11 W. Calculated per 100,000 units, this amounts to 1.1 MW, „just“ with a smarter fan design. The operating noise could be reduced by approx. 3 db. (all velocity scales are identical)

fan optimisation

Ultrasonic water meter

Task

The flow behavior of a water meter shall be investigated, since it issues too high measuring uncertainties in some operating points. This is supposed to be usable for a very large dynamic rangeMaximum to minimum flow ratio (240 in this case). The currently used sensors (transducer) are to be retained.

Solution

Our designed variant fulfils all requirements. The flow in the measuring area is much more even which leads to lower measuring uncertainties over the hole operating range. In addition, the pressure loss is approx. 30 % lower.

ultrasonic water meter

Dust trap

Task

The currently used dust trap filters dust, largely consisting of iron oxide, by means of a glass fibre filter mat. It is to be investigated whether this mat can be substituted by a "smart" flow guidance.

Solution

Our final design meets all requirements and does not need an additional filter mat. The standard test regarding the filter rate has been passed. Compared to the reference, the pressure loss could be reduced by approx. 20 %.

dust trap

Fluid mechanics laboratory

Task

Selection of measurement technology, project planning and construction supervision. The available space must be used optimally. Research and teaching shall be possible in the same way.

Solution

The laboratory is now (among other things) equipped with: soundproofed room, acoustic camera (beamforming), chamber test rig, 3D PIVParticle Image Velocimetry system, small wind tunnel. The floor planning also allows the combination of different test benches, e.g. chamber test rig and soundproofed room.

fluid dynamics laboratory

Room ventilation

Task

Design of a retrofittable (with little effort) ventilation system for classrooms. The room air should be "exchanged" at least three times per hour without causing discomfort (due to draughts) to the people. The natural convection occurring in this room due to human waste heat should be effectively supported.

Solution

Our presented concept fulfils all requirements. The air exchange takes place four times per hour and can be supported by a HEPAHigh Efficiency-Particulate Airfilter filter. The maximum air velocity is (still) below 15 cm/s and is therefore uncritical according to the german workplace directive ASR A 3.6. The distribution of aerosols in the room is effectively reduced.

room ventilation

Heater

Task

The existing heating system shall be optimised with regard to its heat distribution. The aim is to increase the heat output without increasing the fire hazard due to hot spots. Trials with different heating coil arrangements did not bring the desired success.

Solution

Due to the optimised inflow conditions, the heat power can easily be increased by 20 %. The temperature distribution is now much more even. At the same time, the maximum temperature at the outlet can be reduced by 100 °C.

wire coil heating

Exhaust system

Task

The exhaust system of a sports car is to be optimised for the purpose of increasing performance. Sufficient distance to heat-sensitive components (e.g. ignition coils) must be ensured. No parts may protrude from the underbody. In order to optimally use the available installation space while retaining the original catalytic converter position, we have digitally captured the underbody / engine with our 3D scanner.

Solution

Our design fulfils all requirements. The primary tubes are larger in diameter, extra long (their lengths differ only ± 2 mm or << 1 %) and designed symmetrically left / right. Due to identical (large) bending radii, the primary tubes can be produced efficiently using a CNC bending machine. The tailpipe now features a X-pipe, which further improves the gas exchange.

exhaust optimisation

Axial wheel meter

Task

The existing axial wheel gas meter is to be investigated for its operating behaviour at different, disturbed inflows. Based on these findings, the rectifier element in front of the impeller shall be optimised.

Solution

Numerical simulations were used to identify the key areas. By making small changes to the rectifier, the operating behaviour is now constant over all (disturbed) inflow conditions.

axial gas meter

Aerodynamics

Task

A sports car shall be equipped with a plug'n'play front spoiler and rear wing. These are designed to reduce lift while increasing drag as little as possible.

Solution

By means of the selected front spoiler and rear wing, the lift at 200 km/h is reduced by approx. 500 N. At the same time, the resistance increases only by approx. 80 N (Results base on a modified DrivAer model).

aerodynamics

Further projects / innovations

engineering office, CFD, computaional fluid dynamics, fluid mechanics, FEM, structural mechanics, simulation, topology optimisation, bionik, evolution strategy, CIP, Six Sigma, Lean Management, quality, innovation, efficiency, aerodynamic, air flow, fan, blower, pump

Projekte

Wir verfügen über mehr als zehn Jahre Erfahrung in verschiedensten Projekten. Die folgende Auswahl zeigt Ihnen unsere vielfältigen und umfassenden Einsatzmöglichkeiten in den Bereichen: Automotive, Energietechnik, Haushaltsgeräte, Medizintechnik, ... Bitte haben Sie Verständnis, dass wir aus Kundenschutzgründen nicht alle Details offen legen können.

«
GDRM Filter Drucklufttrocknung Ansaugrohr Ventilatoroptimierung Ultraschall-Wasserzähler Staubfalle Fluiddynamik Labor Raumlüftung Drahtwendelheizung Abgasanlagen-Optimierung Axialrad-Gaszähler Aerodynamik
»

GDRM Filter

Aufgabe

Wir wurden beauftragt, die Ursache für Schwingungen innerhalb einer Gas-Druck-Regel-Mess-Anlage zu finden. Nach Untersuchung des Durchflussverhaltens, konnten diese auf das asymmetrische und drallbehaftete Ausströmen aus dem Filter zurückgeführt werden. Der Filter dient dem Abscheiden von Feststoffen (z.B. Rostpartikel) und Flüssigkeiten.

Ergebnis

Durch Anpassung der innenliegenden Bauteile (unter Beibehaltung der originalen Filterpatronen) konnte eine gleichmäßige Filterauströmung realisiert werden. Die Abscheideleistung wurde erhöht, der Bauraumbedarf reduziert und der Druckverlust halbiert. Der halbierte Druckverlust führt zu einer (hydraulischen) Leistungseinsparung von ca. 15.000 W (entspricht 2,5 MWh pro Woche bei 24/7 Betrieb).

GDRM Filter

Filmtrocknung

Aufgabe

In einem "Wetgate" Film-Abtaster verlässt der Film die Apparatur zu nass, es tropft. Die für die Trocknung verwendeten Düsen schaffen es nicht das Tetrachlorethylen (PER) in ausreichendem Maße von dem Film zu blasen. Die optimierten Düsen sollen plug'n'play austauschbar sein.

Ergebnis

Die neugestalteten Düsen wandeln die zur Verfügung stehende Druckluft deutlich effizienter in kinetische Energie um. Der Film wird nun nicht mehr nass auf der Filmrolle aufgewickelt, kein Tropfen mehr.

Drucklufttrocknung

Ansaugrohr

Aufgabe

Konstruktion eines Verteilerrohres zur Adaption einer größeren Drosselklappe. Ziel ist die Entdrosselung der Ansaugung zum Zweck der Leistungssteigerung.

Ergebnis

Unser strömungsoptimiertes Design. Ohne Einschränkungen als funktionaler Prototyp bzw. Kleinserie im Fahrzeug plug'n'play verwendbar. Hergestellt per 3D-Druck (MJFMulti Jet Fusion).

Ansaugrohr

Ventilator

Aufgabe

Als Bestandteil eines Haushaltsgerätes soll ein Trommelläufer-Ventilator optimiert werden, damit das Gesamtgerät einen besseren EEIEnergie Effizienz Index erreicht. Das Spiralgehäuse darf nicht geändert werden, um die Kunststoffspritzguss-Werkzeugkosten gering zu halten. Wünschenswert wäre ebenfalls eine akustische Verbesserung.

Ergebnis

Es ist gelungen den (statischen) Wirkungsgrad des Ventilators um ca. 50 % zu erhöhen. Dies entspricht einer (hydraulischen) Leistungseinsparung von 11 W. Auf 100.000 Geräte gerechnet ergibt dies immerhin 1,1 MW. Das Betriebsgeräusch konnte um 3 db gesenkt werden. (alle Geschwindigkeitsskalen sind identisch)

Ventilatoroptimierung

Ultraschall-Wasserzähler

Aufgabe

Das Durchflussverhalten eines Wasserzählers soll untersucht werden, da in einigen Betriebspunkten zu hohe Messabweichungen auftreten. Dieser soll für einen sehr großen DynamikbereichVerhältnis maximaler zu minimaler Durchfluß (hier 240) verwendbar sein. Die aktuell verwendeten Sensoren (Transducerengl.: Energiewandler) sollen beibehalten werden.

Ergebnis

Die durch uns konzipierte Variante erfüllt alle Anforderungen. Die Strömung im Messbereich ist wesentlich gleichmäßiger, was zu geringeren Messunsicherheiten über den gesamten Arbeitsbereich führt. Darüber hinaus fällt der Druckverlust um ca. 30 % niedriger aus.

Ultraschall-Wasserzähler

Staubfalle

Aufgabe

Die aktuell vorhandene Staubfalle filtert Staub, größtenteils aus Eisenoxid bestehend, mittels einer Glasfaser-Filtermatte. Es soll untersucht werden, ob diese Matte durch eine "smarte" Strömungsführung substituiert werden kann.

Ergebnis

Unser finales Design erfüllt alle Anforderungen und kommt ohne zusätzlicher Filtermatte aus. Der Normtest bzgl. der Filterrate ist bestanden worden. Im Vergleich zur Referenz konnte der Druckverlust um ca. 20 % reduziert werden.

Staubfalle

Strömungsmechanik Labor

Aufgabe

Auswahl der Messtechnik, Projektierung und Bauüberwachung. Die zur Verfügung stehenden Räumlichkeiten sollen optimal ausgenutzt werden. Forschung und Lehre sollen gleichermaßen möglich sein.

Ergebnis

Das Labor ist nun u.a. ausgestattet mit: Schallschutz-Raum, Akustische Kamera, Kammerprüfstand, 3D PIVengl.: Particle Image Velocimetry-System, Kleinwindkanal. Die Grundrissplanung erlaubt auch die Kombination verschiedener Prüfstände, z.B. Kammerprüfstand und Schallschutz-Raum.

Fluiddynamik Labor

Raumlüftung

Aufgabe

Konzeption einer (mit wenig Aufwand) nachrüstbaren RLTRaum Luft Technik-Anlage für Unterrichtsräume. Die Raumluft soll mindestens drei Mal pro Stunde "ausgetauscht" werden, ohne Unbehagen (wegen Zugluft) bei den Personen zu verursachen. Die in diesem Raum auftretende natürliche Konvektion aufgrund der menschlichen Abwärme soll effektiv unterstützt werden.

Ergebnis

Unser vorgestelltes Konzept erfüllt alle Anforderungen. Der Luftaustausch findet vier Mal pro Stunde statt und kann durch einen HEPA-Filterengl.: High Efficiency-Particulate Airfilter unterstützt werden. Die maximale Luftgeschwindigkeit liegt (weiterhin) unter 15 cm/s und ist somit laut Arbeitsstättenrichtlinie ASR A 3.6 unkritisch. Die Verteilung von Aerosolen im Raum wird wirkungsvoll reduziert.

Raumlüftung

Heizung

Aufgabe

Die vorhandene Heizung soll bzgl. ihrer Wärmeverteilung optimiert werden. Ziel ist die Heizleistung zu erhöhen, ohne die Brandgefahr durch Hot Spots zu vergrößern. Versuche mit verschiedenen Heizwendelanordnungen brachten nicht den gewünschten Erfolg.

Ergebnis

Durch die optimierte Anströmung kann die Heizleistung problemlos um 20 % erhöht werden. Die Temperaturverteilung ist nun deutlich gleichmäßiger. Gleichzeitig kann die maximale Temperatur am Auslass um 100 °C reduziert werden.

Drahtwendelheizung

Abgasanlage

Aufgabe

Die Abgasanlage eines Sportwagens soll zum Zwecke der Leistungssteigerung optimiert werden. Der ausreichende Abstand zu hitzesensiblen Bauteilen (z.B. Zündspulen) muss gewährleistet sein. Es dürfen keine Teile aus dem Unterboden hinausragen. Um den vorhandene Bauraum optimal unter Beibehaltung der originalen Katalysator Position auszunutzen, haben wir mit unserem 3D Scanner den Unterboden / Motor digital erfasst.

Ergebnis

Unsere Variante erfüllt alle Anforderungen. Die Primärrohre sind größer im Durchmesser, extra lang (ihre Längen differieren lediglich ± 2 mm bzw. << 1 %) und links / rechts symmetrisch ausgeführt. Durch identische (große) Biegeradien lassen sich die Primärrohre effizient mittels CNC-Biegemaschine herstellen. Das Endrohr verfügt nun über eine X-Pipe, die den Ladungswechsel noch weiter verbessert.

Abgasanlagen-Optimierung

Axialrad-Zähler

Aufgabe

Der vorhandene Axialrad-Gaszähler soll auf sein Betriebsverhalten bei unterschiedlichen, gestörten Zuströmungen untersucht werden. Basierend auf diesen Erkenntnissen soll das Gleichrichterelement vor dem Laufrad optimiert werden.

Ergebnis

Mittels numerischer Simulationen konnten die Schlüsselgebiete aufgezeigt werden. Durch kleine Änderungen am Gleichrichter ist das Betriebsverhalten nun über alle asymmetrischen Anströmbedingungen konstant.

Axialrad-Gaszähler

Aerodynamik

Aufgabe

Ein Sportwagen soll mit einem plug'n'play Frontspoiler und Heckflügel ausgestattet werden. Diese sollen den Auftrieb reduzieren und gleichzeitig den Widerstand möglichst wenig erhöhen.

Ergebnis

Mittels des ausgewählten Frontspoilers und Heckflügels sinkt der Auftrieb bei 200 km/h um ca. 500 N. Der Widerstand steigt gleichzeitig lediglich um ca. 80 N (Ergebnis auf Basis eines modifizierten DrivAer Modells).

Aerodynamik

Weitere Projekte / Innovationen

Ingenieurbüro, CFD, Strömungssimulation, Strömungsmechanik, Strömungstechnik, FEM, Strukturmechanik, Struktursimulation, Topologie Optimierung, Bionik, Evolutionsstrategie, KVP, Six Sigma, Lean Management, Qualität, Innovation, Effizienz, Aerodynamik, Ventilator, Pumpe